June 2014 Movie Report

We’ve just finished the month of June which continued the summer of awesome. It was the month for sequels and sci-fi blockbusters and, some more than others, the month succeeded. So now it’s time for me to say what I thought were the best and worst films of the month and rate each of the films I’ve seen. I haven’t seen every movie released this month, but I’ll go back and edit once I do.

Best:

beginagainbanner

I’ve raved about it for a long time, I’ve seen it twice, and it’s still my favorite film of the summer. “Begin Again” is not just a great comedy about music, but it is a truly honest movie with a great emotional punch that feels tangible and real. The terrific performances by the ensemble cast and the soundtrack that I’ve been listening to ever since it was posted on Spotify are just a couple of the film’s many highlights. Definitely seek it out as it expands within the coming weeks.

Worst:

transformersbanner1

I thought it’d be a while before I see a movie this summer worse than “The Amazing Spider-Man 2,” but I underestimated the power of Michael Bay. In a way that only he could, “Transformers: Age Of Extinction” is an explosion-filled, boring, tension-less pile of garbage that stands out as not just the worst movie of the year but one of the worst blockbusters that I’ve ever seen in my life.

Now here’s my ranking of the films I saw during the month of June:

1. “Begin Again” – A+
2. “22 Jump Street” – A
3. “Edge Of Tomorrow” – A
4. “How To Train Your Dragon 2” – A-
5. “Jersey Boys” – C
6. “Transformers: Age Of Extinction” – NO RATING!

Now there were a few movies I missed out on this June. I didn’t see “Obvious Child,” “The Fault In Our Stars,” “The Rover,” or “Snowpiercer” yet and I fully intend to. I’ll update the list when I do end up seeing them.

What did you guys think of the month of June? What was your favorite film of the month? What was your least favorite? Vote in the poll below and comment with your thoughts.

Thank you guys so much for reading and, as always, “Follow the Screen, Scene X Scene!”

Leave a Reply

