July 2014 Movie Preview

After the awesomeness known as June 2014, I have high hopes for the month of July. There are several movies opening that I think have potential to be highlights of the summer or maybe even the year. Let’s go into what’s coming out.

July 2:

tammybanner

“Earth to Echo” – Based on the trailers and even the poster, this looks like a lazy ripoff of films like E.T. and The Goonies. I might give the movie a chance, but I feel like “Super 8” already did the job that this film’s trying to accomplish.

“Tammy” – I’m not a Melissa McCarthy fan, so I don’t plan on seeing this movie at all. I feel like I have nothing else to say about this, so let’s just move on.

July 11:

dawnofapes

“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” – I am beyond stoked to see this film! I’m a huge fan of the first Apes movie in this reboot series and have loved every trailer I’ve seen so far. Andy Serkis is a master at motion capture acting and I can’t wait to see what he brings here.

“Boyhood” – Where I’m excited to see apes on horses, I’m also excited to see Richard Linklater’s latest experiment, creating a story revolving twelve years of a kid’s life. This has the makings of the ultimate coming of age movie and I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

July 18:

thepurgebanner

“The Purge: Anarchy” – I’ll go upfront and say that I despised the first “Purge” film. I thought it was one of the worst horror films in recent memory. However, even if the trailers for this new one don’t excite me, I’m at least happy that it seems to be taking more advantage of the film’s premise. Fingers crossed it delivers.

“Sex Tape” – I’m a big Jason Segel fan, but not a fan at all of Cameron Diaz or of their last team-up, “Bad Teacher.” Considering this is the same director and the trailers haven’t made me laugh, I’m not too excited for this. I’ll still give it a shot.

July 25:

lucy

“Hercules” – At first, I thought this film looked awful, but I’ll admit that in the back of my head, I have some interest in seeing it only because of the presence of The Rock. I will say that I’m primarily worried about the fact that Brett Ratner is in the directors chair.

“Lucy” – Scarlett Johansson is in everything! “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” “Under the Skin,” “Her,” “Chef,” she’s done it all! Here, I’m just hoping to have fun with the action sequences and enjoy the ride.

July 31:

gotgbanner

“Guardians of the Galaxy” – I’m only including this one in this post because I’m seeing the film on July 31 and won’t be able to provide a proper prelude to how excited I am to see it prior to the August preview. So I’ll just say it here. This movie is gonna be awesome! This has the makings of a perfect Marvel movie and I cannot wait to see how it turns out.

Which movies are you looking forward to seeing this June? Which movies are you not looking forward to? Vote in the poll below.

Thank you guys so much for reading and, as always, “Follow the Screen, Scene X Scene!”

Leave a Reply

